Skip to main content

Clear events and reset your node

For several reasons, you will get to the point at which you want to reset your node during development. Depending on what exactly you want to do, you can either only switch to a new event store, retaining the node's configuration and keeping a copy of your "old" events, or you completely reset the node including all events and configuration.

Switch to a new event store#

By changing the node's topic setting, you switch to a new event store. Your node keeps the events for each topic in a separate database. You are able to access the old events again by switching back to your previous topic.

nodes with different topics don't exchange events

If your setup includes multiple nodes, make sure to change the topic on each device. While nodes can connect to each other provided they have the same swarm key, they only exchange events if they are configured with the same topic.

As the topic is a node setting, you can change it with the CLI or Node Manager:

You can change the topic with the ax settings set command:

ax settings set com.actyx.os/services/eventService/topic "new-topic" 192.168.2.1 --local

Reset your node#

If you want to completely reset node (=delete all events and configurations), you need to delete its data directory. This works differently depending on your operating system:

  1. Stop Actyx
  2. Delete the actyxos-data directory. By default, it is located at C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\ActyxOS
  3. Start Actyx